The Gospel of Charlie Wilson: I’m blessed, I know it and I’m no longer afraid to show it

Ask me how I’m doing, I’m blessed, yes
Living every moment, no regrets
Smile up on my face, I’m like oh yes
I’m blessed yes, I’m blessed yes


When you attend a Chocolate church led by a pastor that ain’t afraid to say “nigga” in service, you learn about the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, John AND the Gospel of Charlie Wilson.

Good Brother Charlie reminds us to give God a shout out for all the blessings he sends our way; because he didn’t have to.

As I sat in the pew of Tabernacle Full Gospel Baptist Cathedral this morning, I was reminded that I am blessed and highly favored.

And for that God deserves my praise; a shout out for all he does in spite of me.


God, through the words of Pastor Dr. Donald Morton, affirms me every day.

For the last few months, I’ve been under a great deal of stress. Stuck at a cross road; attempting to determine the best path to venture down.

I’ve allowed myself to consider sitting back, taking the path that feels most comfortable; the path that will cause the least disruption… because I was scared.

As Pastor Morton affirmed this morning, “If you’re going to walk in the blessings of God, you can’t be fearful. Everything God wants for you; you can’t be scured.”


[sidebar: Yes, he said scured; my nigga.]

I’m too blessed to be stressed.

It’s time to finish what God has started. And there is no reason to be scared or scured because no weapon formed against me shall prosper.

“It’s your season,” Pastor said. “It’s your time. God is about to do something’s for you.”

Affirmation.

It’s my season.

It’s my time.

God is about to do something’s for me.

And when he puts me on, he puts my village on too.


Sitting in 10:45 a.m. service, I receive another affirmation.

Elder Sharon says, “If he calls you, you have to be ready.”

He has called.

I must answer.

Now is not the time to be scured.  

When you’re blessed, there is no time to be stressed; no time for fear.

Not only are we blessed. As Elder Sharon proclaimed, “we need to know it!”

We need to own it.

I need to know it.

I need to own it.

I need not sit at the crossroad any longer.

It’s time to walk down a different path; the path God chose for me.


Charlie Wilson’s “I’m Blessed,” features T.I. 

In verse three, T.I. said, “Just take some time to thank God for what he done with you.”

God, I thank you for the many blessings you have bestowed upon me.

I thank you for the opportunity you’ve given to me so that I may gain the wisdom and experience I need to lead and follow in the efforts of transforming our community and culture; to be a part of a collective; to be a part of something bigger than myself.

Through it all, I will lift up your name.


I’m blessed, I KNOW IT, and I’m no longer afraid to show it.

Leave a Reply

