Shame on You, Jill Stein.

I guess it’s time to let the cat out of the bag. I voted Green this election.

After spending nearly 20 minutes in the voting booth, I couldn’t bring myself to hit Clintons button. In all honesty, I would have just voted for Harambe but he wasn’t on the Delaware Approved Write In list. I know this is a serious matter so I ask that you please excuse my inappropriate sense of humor. It’s what gets me by in a world where I am being told to elect a President of the United States based on “lesser of two evil” logic. untitled.png

I chose to stay quiet on my decision to vote Green because I’ve been surrounded by upset and hurt Democrats who say those idealistic millennial voters f*ed us all by voting Third Party [p.s. Sorry for the language, Grammy]. You may be able to argue that statement is indeed true but why waste your breath? Trump is here and he’s most likely not going anywhere. My choice to vote Third Party didn’t elect Trump. No. White women and men who fear losing their privilege elected Trump.

Despite my support for Stein at the ballot, I must admit, I’m disappointed in her current efforts to file for recounts in Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Michigan.

In case you’ve been living under a rock, or for self-care purposes, chose to check out after the election results, Stein has raised $5,000,000 (yes, six zeros) to date.

While I commend Stein for challenging the system, I can’t help but be disappointed.

I have limited hope…. actually I have no hope that recounts will lead to a change in the election results.

Instead, I wish Stein would have used her fundraising powers for good; as an opportunity to support organizations that are prepared to respond to the needs of marginalized people under a Trump presidency. They will need this financial backing more than ever.

Imagine what organizations like:

could do with a chunk of that $5,000,000 pie.

For this reason, I say: “Shame on you, Jill Stein.”

For the record, I do not regret my decision to vote for Stein. To me, she’s still a dope ol’ lady but because I did vote for her, I am obligated to hold her accountable.

“There are real solutions right now for us if we stand up with the courage of our convictions.” – Jill Stein

I agree with Stein, when she says there are real solutions. However, spending much needed resources on voter recounts shouldn’t be one of them.

Leave a Reply

